La Fiesta - Reisverslag uit São Paulo, Brazilië van Claudia Deyl - WaarBenJij.nu La Fiesta - Reisverslag uit São Paulo, Brazilië van Claudia Deyl - WaarBenJij.nu

La Fiesta

Door: claupaulo

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Claudia

27 Augustus 2010 | Brazilië, São Paulo

Spring has not even started yet and some days have already been 33 degrees.. my god... I will die in summer for sure. Today was nice and fresh though, with its 27 degrees ;) Apart from my attempt to deal with the heat, everythings ok. Remember that I was complaining in my last blog thats its so hard to make friends with Brazilians? Well, I wouldnt be me if I would leave it like that and just complain ;) so instead, I decided to make a small housewarming party tonight! I invited some exchange students from my class, random people from uni which I met at lunch and friends of friends... am gonna bake some Dutch pancakes, whereafter we are going to explore the barzinhos of Vila Madalena (my neighbourhood)! Well, enough ingredients for a nice evening, right?

Not the next week, but the week thereafter is going to be exciting as well!! I will have holidays from uni for one week.. no its not spring holidays; its Independance week. What? Normal countries have Independance Day, but here in Brasil its Independance week.. heheh, well it should not be surprising as here generally the unthinkable happens and the impossible is possible... I am planning to discover a state nearby (relatively nearby, it will be some 6-8 hours by bus..); Minas Gerias which has a lot of nature (mountains!! yayyy.. and waterfalls!) and traces from the colonial time and gold hunting, with its beautiful old churches and opera buildings and parks etc., diving into the Brazilian history :) and breathing some fresh air after the busy busy city!! I hope to find some nice couchsurf hosts, its gonna be an adventure for sure!

Did I already tell you that Brazilian Portuguese is really really different from Portuguese Portuguese? The accent is totally different, which I am happily starting to catch, and a lot of words I learnt in Portugal do not exist here or have a completely different meaning... which causes some awkward situations sometimes eheheh. There is this one guard in my building (all apartment buildings have guards 24/7 here in São Paulo, for safety reasons obviously) who is very religious and likes me a lot, he always starts to talk about how wonderful it is that I came here to discover the beautiful country of Brasil and even though different countries speak different languages and the wonderful creation of God and it goes on like that... in order to add something to the conversation, I decided to teach him how to say God in Dutch... as most of you know, the pronunciation is quite hard for foreigners ;) so to help him, I suggested that the sound of the 'gggg' is quite similiar to the pronunciation of the first letter of 'rapariga' (which means 'girl' in Portugal). So I told him: 'repeat after me: say rrrrapariga! And now gggod... Rrrrapariga!' He did not change anything in his facial expression, but as you can guess by know... actually rapariga does not really mean 'girl' in Brasil. I found out, a few days later, that they rather use it to refer to prostitute. Ooops... and making one of the most religious people I know repeat this for minutes and minutes... ...OOPS :P .......

Talk to you later!

  • 28 Augustus 2010 - 17:03

    Joanna:

    Hey Clau! :) sorry for not responding to ur mail...but lately i ve been a bit busy. :P I ll tell u soon more in details whats going on in my life. :) hahaha the story of this guard made me laughing. :D Yeah, iused to have some brazilian customers and honestly, they were using some brasilian idioms in pt, so i was pretending i would understand everything. :P But defenitely its my type of buddies!

  • 29 Augustus 2010 - 10:24

    Marike:

    Clau!! echt weer een vet verhaal :P ik hoop dat je party leuk is geweest. Natuurlijk ook veel plezier in je vakantie, wel voorzichtig doen he ;) ik had je laatst op msn gemist :( ma dat komt volgende x helemaal goed tog? :P see you soooon liefsxx

  • 16 September 2010 - 07:04

    Neeti~:

    Oh nee, demonstreer meteen wat een geweldig slecht vriendin ik ben. Jouw bericht verplaatst naar andere kant van mijn mailbox en kwam net achter (na lezen van Ierse Claudia's verslag) dat ik heeeeeeeeeeeeeeeel lang niks van je had gehoord.

    Mwahaha, wel goed dat je alvast geweldige voorbeeld geeft! Carsten zou trots op je zijn =)

    Hoop dat nieuwe schooljaar niet abnormaal moeilijk is, zie niet veel reisverslagen na deze O_O Zelf ook bezig met de hele enge bachelor(eind)project. Lukt allemaal wel, maar ja moeten veel evil docs inleveren & afmaken =)

    Laat maar weten hoe het gaat en spreek je nog wel op msn ^_^ Veel plezier in Brazilie en feest ze :P

  • 25 September 2010 - 14:07

    Jeroen NL:

    Aaaaahhhh...

    Ben je gisteren helemaal vergeten te feliciteren!!!

    Echt heel de week dacht ik er aan!!!

    Nouja, alsnog bij deze: PARABENS A VOCÊ

    VAN HARTE!!! :-D

    Liefs,
    Jeroen

  • 25 September 2010 - 19:07

    San:

    Hey Clau,

    nog gefeliciteerd! Ik lees net al je verhalen achter elkaar. Echt vet allemaal. Hier in NL is het weer k*t.

    tot snel!

  • 04 Oktober 2010 - 10:15

    E.:

    O. Mijn. GGGGGGGod.

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Verslag uit: Brazilië, São Paulo

Clau in São Paulo

Recente Reisverslagen:

04 Januari 2011

Adeus Brasil

28 Oktober 2010

Fishing Clouds....

14 Oktober 2010

Hopes and Dreams

02 Oktober 2010

My heart is beating like a jungle drum...

27 Augustus 2010

La Fiesta
Claudia

..6 months in Brasil!

Actief sinds 15 Juli 2010
Verslag gelezen: 545
Totaal aantal bezoekers 33896

Voorgaande reizen:

12 Juli 2010 - 05 Januari 2011

Clau in São Paulo

Landen bezocht: